Saturday, April 30, 2011

五年@UTAR - Foundation篇

Initially I planned to write in Chinese, but I lazy... =.="

Well, 9 days later will be my next paper on Wastewater Treatment, which will be also my last paper at UTAR, thereafter UTAR will be only my memory, not more my university.

As mentioned in the title, this blog will summarize my 5-year life at UTAR, from PJ campus to KL campus.

First of all, WHY would I choose UTAR? Is it really UTAR is MY CHOICE? Well, it was a long long long time ago... When I was in Form 5, I still blank of what should I choose for my future career. I don't have any ambition at all, except be a HOTEL TYCOON, and built the very 1st hotel at the MOON =.="""

That time, my 3rd sis, was also choosing for college and courses. Initially, she chose QS at TARC, but after that she changed to UCSI due to scholarship. That time, I started to know about the course of QS, quantity surveying.

Soon, I finished my SPM. Among all subjects I studied, MATHEMATICS and AD MATHS were my favourite, thus I wanted to choose some subject which related to math. I was told that QS was something about calculation only, thus it became one of my choice. Plus, my dad told me before that QS was quite a good choice, suggesting me to take it at UTAR. That time UTAR was still a new university and I heard that UTAR has most of Chinese, then sure a lot of pretty girls those thing, so UTAR became one of my choice. But still, I still look for other institute.

One day we played football, sitting beside the goal there with my schoolmate, Yeoh. He told me that there is one course named WHAT WHAT WHAT Science one, is related to maths, can earn a lot a lot of money, but that course was only offered oversea. Since it was related to maths, and able to earn a lot of money, I started my interest on this course. Few weeks later, perhaps, I heard about the actuarial science, then I knew that the course of WHAT WHAT WHAT Science was actually actuarial science. And, I was also informed that UTAR did started to promote this new course! That's really a good news for me that time. Thus, without any second thought, all four MONEY-EYE dermaian, me, ah miao, yiyan and lijong, decided to go UTAR to study foundation leading to the course of Actuarial Science.

Came to PJ, miao and I stayed at my aunty's house for few weeks before the room we rented get ready. Few weeks later, we moved to PJ sec17, then suddenly Lijong and WeiPei became our housemates and Yiyan became our neighbour. That time, I got to know Kinzai, Limpek, Cheeming, AhSiang, Waikeat, Yichuan who were our housemates from Pahang.


SECTION 17
In PJ, I had learned to yumcha at late night, I had learned to play DOTA... another memory at PJ that I can't forget was... playing gambling with housemates during CNY... (that time said CNY so play till 15th of CNY, then continued to play till the whole month of CNY.... then continued again to play till the end of the semester, which just stopped because we got to move to Setapak already =.=)

UTAR

UTAR = JAIL?

I still remember, the very first day at UTAR, we had to do Chemistry experiment and the report had to be submitted two weeks later. It was an experiment about penetration test, if not mistaken. I started to feel boring, because this did not give me any feel of uni life at UTAR as the first day got to write report already. I remembered that time, I told miao that we wanted to create a legend at UTAR, scored 4.0 or what... LOL

The 1st week at UTAR, since I kept on mixing with miao and yiyan only, thus having no chance to get know new friends. Thus, one day, I be the bad guy, leaving miao alone then tried to get new friends in my tutorial group. I knew I was bad that time, but I had to do so, otherwise both of us would be SOLO the whole year.

That year, I got to know pang, yuanbin, chuanyi, siangwei, siangkuak, alvin loh them, whom I mix the most with throughout my foundation year. I still remembered the moment we sat at the corridor outside PC lab there, scanning for the girls passing by us, and "spannar"? LOL

Although my tutorial group in foundation was not full of lenglui, our TD11 was one of the most famous class among other groups, due to our lovely courserep, who did bring a lawyer to sue the lecturer before, cheated us that the class was canceled and on the another side went to tell the lecturer that we wanted to cancel it, coupled with one of my classmate then broke up with him by passing his love letter around the lecture class...

Soon, semester 3, it was the time that we may change our mind on the course to be taken in our degree. I started to doubt on the future of actuarial science graduate, as I know that the demand in the market was not really high. Even if hired by company, the pay was also around 2000, as the very very high paid was only for those QUALIFIED ACTUARY. My lecturer told me, to get qualified, after graduate, we still have to sit for exam, still need to study everyday after work, which is the life that I don't want to have. Thus, I had made a decision, one of the biggest decision in my life, to CHANGE MY COURSE!

But what course to change? QS, ya... which was one of my choices previously. BUT, I was told by UTAR that UTAR QS was NOT accepting UTAR FOUNDATION STUDENTS, funny right? No choice, have to choose another else. Similarly, miao and siangwei were also influenced by me to change the course, and they changed to electronic engineering.

For me, before entering UTAR, I told myself, if I really choose engineering course, I will only choose E&E. Civil Engineering I heard about it before, but I heard that a lot people study it and it seem to be a course for not-so-good-result students to study. Thus, it was never be in my choices before. Even in my application forms to UTAR (we needed to fill in 5 choices of study), none of them is Civil Engineering.

HOWEVER.... maybe this was due to my last-time ambition of building hotels, or maybe this was because related to QS, or maybe this was because I heard from Yizhong that physics in course was all about forces, like what we studied in Form 4 Physics Chap2, 3 which were my favourite topics in physics that time... which made me at the end.... made another most important choice...

AND, finally, it became my course right now, CIVIL ENGINEERING... =.="

Monday, January 31, 2011

Rabbit Year 2011.

Today, again, I am home alone. Everyone is back to hometown and preparing for CNY. Facebook is fulled of the post of my friends about reaching their hometown and asking for their hometown friends for gathering. Ya, my friends asked me for gathering too. But, I don't join them, as I am still here, at KL.

Yesterday had a dinner with Meisze at Sky Restaurant. The first time the restaurant is so empty during dinner time. Usually this time, wanna find a table also quite difficult. But now, is totally different. No much students around, other customers are all adults or families, except both of us. But Meisze claimed that she is already working, not more student.

This year is the first year I back to hometown on CNY eve, although all my classes in this week are canceled. Alone at home, have nothing to do. Facebook, no much people update already, even MSN also quite quiet.

Two more days is the CNY already, the year of rabbit. Rabbit is my sister's chinese horoscope. But she is not here with us this year, celebrating the CNY with her friends at UK. First time celebrating CNY without her, surely have some weird feeling.

But anyway, tiger year is going to end soon, although I have really no feeling of CNY now. Recall back this whole year of tiger, or year of 2010. It was a "special" year for me. A lot of thing happen, especially at the end of the year. I can't say that it was a good year, but I can't say that it was a bad one, too. In this year, I had joined the organization of the ball night, and everyone seem enjoy it. I had organized the Redang trip to create a sweet memory among friends, especially those who already graduated. I had represented university for the competition and got champion. I had known many new friends and they are all good friends for me. Sounds all are good things happened around me right? I think so, if the thing never happen. However, I believe that everything happen for a reason, challenges is not to get us down, but is to train us and change us to be a better one.

Finally, wish everyone, of course, including me, have a happy chinese new year. Gong Xi Fa Cai, everything go smooth and most important, have a good health.

新年快乐。。。

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

AUBBC 2010

What is AUBBC?

Well, AUBBC stands for Asian Universities Build-and-Break Competition. It is an annual event that is organized by IStructE and UNITEN, in which the participants will be given a time limit to construct a structure with the materials provided and then break the structure by adding load onto it. The lightest structure which is broken by the heaviest load will win the competition. Thus, the competition will be judged by the ratio of load/self-weight.

This was my 2nd time to join this competition. Last year, Richard, Peter, Yizhong, Lianwei and me, together with another team of seniors represented UTAR in this competition. Luckily, we didn't lose that time, why? The reason that caused us not lose that competition was... we get disqualified in aspect of the dimension required, disqualified not equal to lose, I guess.. lol

Still remember last year???

The very "cute" cantilever structure that constructed by us last year XD


The breakfast given by us last year... seem pity right? lol


After one year, which was after the final examination last semester, 2/10/2010. Initially, I was quite regret for registering this competition, because I missed a part-time job for the whole week which can let me earn rm100/day due to this competition. And, in my mind, I joined this competition was merely for fun only because honestly, I believed that to win this competition is totally impossible.

That morning, we gathered at UTAR on about 7am. The participating teams from UTAR included our team (me, yizhong, richard, lianwei and koksheng) and another team of hueixing. Upon reaching there, heard that Steven absent for the competition and to be replaced by Chongyang. That time there is a thought in my mind... "aiyo, if I know that can find replacement, I can go for the part-time job already!! ><" But, everything was too late already.

Soon, we reached UNITEN by UTAR bus. The leading lecturer was Dr Jeffrey, our... erm... lovely... lecturer in Stuctural class last semester LOL.


Upon reaching UNITEN, this lecturer keep using his status in structural engineer field to search and try to ask for the question from his engineer friends who involve in organizing the competition. But after that, he was very disappointed to tell us that he failed to get the question as all his friends said that they didn't know the question also lol.

Then we were asked by Dr Jeffrey to do a quite "siasui-ing" action in the competition venue in front of other competitors from other universities. He asked us to hold the UTAR flag and took a group photo in front of the stage. It was really O.M.G to do this in front of so many people. So, we did it fast and get back to seat fast also hahaha.


This time the competition venue is still the same, unless the space given for each group was smaller, because the participating teams were increasing, from 30+ last year to 55 this year. And, there were 5 teams from oversea countries, which were 1 from National Taiwan University, 1 from China Tongji University, 2 from National University Singapore, and another from Nanyang Technology University, Singapore. The oversea participants also increased if compared to last year which had only one oversea team that came from Singapore.

The competition was started from 11am until 1.30pm. In this two and half hours, we were given "lidi", satay sticks, masking tapes, thread, scissors, pencil, erasers, papers and a hook. And after blow water, construct, and finish the structure in two and half hours, we had our lunch. During the construction, there was a judge, whom we called him as Dr Ooi, because he quite look alike Dr Ooi who taught us Fluid Mechanics I last time, always talked to us and comment on our structure. He seems like not confident in our structure and said "Do you all know how an arc works? Ok, then you all will see why I say so." But at the end, he did really helped us on improving our structure that he asked us try to press on the loading point and see which was the weak part to be improved.

After the competition, I took the chance to capture few pictures of structures built by other teams. Of course, the first one is our team product, which is a lot nicer than last year "cute" cantilever LOL.

Ours~~~!

NTU, Singapore

NTU, Taiwan

This should be from Tungji, China, I forget already ><
When we were having our lunch, the judges were measuring the dimension of the structures and deciding which teams to be qualified. After lunch, that was the loading session. Team by team was asked to take their structure to the stage and loaded with a pail filled by stones. Only the qualified teams will be asked (Last year our team was not called the name, so indicating disqualified). But this year, before all the qualified teams going up to the stage, the emcee also announced the groups that qualified. We were damn scaring and worrying that the same thing will happen again, which is DISQUALIFIED. But luckily, 43 UTAR, this number was called!! we were quite happy and I still joking with my friends that I will have to save my camera battery so that it can still be used when we got prize... they said I thought too much already LOL...

The load testing session was going on. It was tested by hanging a plastic pail on the hook placed on the structure, and filling it by tiny stones until it failed. Then the pail together with the tiny stones was weighed and obtained the failing load. The structure itself was also weighed before loaded in order to obtain its self-weight. The highest ratio of load/self-weight would be the champion. While the testing went on, there was a team performing very good, because normally other teams just used one pail, but they used two! Their failing load was one and half full pail of stones. Similarly, that time, I also jokingly discussed with my teammates on how should us hang the second pail if we succeeded LOL.

Our team was called to go up to the stage then. Before we wanted to test, the judges around directly asked us to put the 1kg-steel weight into the pail, and just continued to fill it with stones. I was so worrying that it will fail as I was the one to hold the pail that time. But the judges around asked us not to worry, just fill the pail till full. Finally, we finished filling the whole pail, taking out the stones, filled it again with all the steel weight. It was still not yet failed. We reached the second pail! And we were asked not to use stones but directly use the steel. Similarly two pails were full! Finally, the judges brought a long hook for us to hang all the weights. And again, the area can be used to hang the weights all was finished. That time, the judges said a sentence "now, we meet a problem, we have not enough load!".

We were then asked not to delay the time, and asked to bring our structure down of the stage first. After all other teams finish testing, we got to test it again. End up, our structure was failed at the weight of about 11kg, which the ratio was 20.8.

It was really an unforgettable moment for everyone of us. We finally won a well-known competition in civil engineering field and it was the second time for UTAR civil engineering to win prize in competition. First is the Nehemiah Competition which is nationwide and second is this AUBBC which is Asian-wide!!

We were quite proud of this winning because we were not just lucky to win a bit compared with others, but we won quite far away from others! For information, the first runner-up (2nd place) got the ratio of 13+!!! It was really a meaningful moment for everyone of us, including our lecturer, who in his email to other lecturers stating that "I am proud to say that they (referring to us) are my student in structural class this semester." XD





Final Year Project a.k.a. FYP

Today, I am at Kangar, Perlis. Ya, I am having my holiday, or semester break now, from 26/9 until 17/10/2010. This indicates that I have completed my UTAR degree year 4 sem 1. This was definitely a tough and busy semester. I believe that my friends around can sense it too. I joined less activities this semester, I seldom hang out with them this semester. Why was I so busy? 1st, the most important one, my final year project, or it is usually called as FYP, which caused quite a headache for me the whole semester, and I guess that this headache will continue until I finish my whole degree.

As mentioned in previous post, my title for FYP was "Microstructural behavior of lightweight foam concrete". In this project, the instruments that initially required were quite high-tech one, and of course, the price of the instrument were also very high $$$$$. One of the instruments, which was the most important one, was named as SEM - Scanning Electron Microscope , and the another was XRD - X-ray Deflectometry (the name I not sure correct or not lol). According to my lecturer, these instrument costs about hundred thousands, and UTAR have acquired the XRD last semester, while the SEM will be reaching UTAR by end of this year also. Because of this FYP, Sintat and me, both had attended a so-called training or I think it is more to briefing of the XRD. However, after that I had told by the lecturer that we may not use that instrument already because he has to be around us whenever we use that instrument, so it would be quite troublesome. Besides, the SEM also the same. Thus, end up, we will only use an optical microscope for this FYP. Well, this indicates that our title was totally different from the initial one, from microscopic behavior to air-void characteristic =.="

However, this is still a quite tough project, of course, because if it is easy, it is not more FYP, rite? Below will show some of the photo for my FYP... and they are more to the photos of concrete casting...
Well, we are planning to do the research for the concrete until the age of 6months. That caused us being so damn busy the whole semester because we have to complete the 6-month sample preparation before September, otherwise, we will not possible to finish it next year. That was really a great relieve after all the samples were completed. What came next was the 1st submission of report, i.e. first three chapters of the FYP reports. Everyone started to do it quite early, and that's the actual way. But me? started to do it on week 13, almost week 14 =.= Luckily, it can be completed on the due date/time. I write it here "on" not "before" because the deadline was on 5pm, Monday, and I really submit it on that time, 5pm!!

Then, the next day was the presentation of the FYP. It can be said as the presentation of mine in degree with which I most satisfy XD

End of the presentation means that we have to face the final examination. Although the subjects in this semester were all sucks, all of them were over now!! :)


This was the "cute" cartoon, I guess that I created and put it in my FYP presentation as the introduction for the problem statement, cute right? lol


Monday, August 23, 2010

Weekend of WEEK 12 is ended. Don’t know why, this semester pass till very fast, fast till a bit too fake already. All of my coursemates feel that too. WHY? Is it normal feeling for a final year student? I just remember this semester has just started not long ago. It is started by a May Intake, and I was attending the orientation.

It is followed by icebreaking, city tour, and festival. Yaa, FEStival! It is a so-called last event in our term of being SRC. FEStival= a campus carnival which was just prepared everything by us in 19 days… ya, 19 days, which is NINE-TEEN! Although it was not as happening, as success, as the FEStival in my mind, it was a great job for all of us!

Well, since it is a final year for us, we have to do a project in order for us to be awarded the degree. This project has a name which u will never guess, the name of this so-great project is… known as final year project. What a good name ya? So, in my so called fyp (final year project), I have chosen a title by a lecturer of a subject in my course… I still remember, I choose the title is based on the lecturer. Well, some lecturers I have no interest on them, since they are some not as nice as we know them. Some lecturers are nice, but I have no interest on their subject. Although the subject of the title I choose is not really my interest also (actually I don’t know I have interest which subject in this civil engineering also… seem all also very boring =.= except, maths, maybe…) I choose this subject, concrete technology, because of my future career, maybe. Since I will be working in IJM, which is a construction company, it is beneficial for me to know more on the building material, rather than the design thing, which is not the scope of a contractor. Besides, IJM has a concrete factory as well. So, taking this title, may give me another path after my graduation, rather than just working at construction site. So, I choose CONCRETE.

So, what title have i chosen? Microstructure Behavior of Light Weight Foam Concrete. It seem like very PRO rite? Actually the scope, as the name, is just study the microstructure of the concrete. But, u think to study the microstructure easy? >.<>

And thus, the nightmare begins…

OK, don’t talk about those sad things already. Let’s talk about this weekend. 21st and 22nd of August, the days of which I initially want to go for a camp, Famine 30. I have taken the form from friend and promised that I will be going to help on the camp. But, when I know the date, I returned the form to him. It is not because of assignment, not because of test, or anything, but it is because of someone, someone I have known for 15 years, Khoo Yi Yan. She warned, erm… not warn laa I think, is invite or welcome me to go for her convocation of degree which drop on 22nd!!! So, what to do? One is a famine 30, which is a camp that I wanna go, another is the once-in-life convocation of my best friend of 15 years. No choice, I sacrifice the camp.

So, without going camp, that was what my activities for this Saturday and Sunday. Saturday, I woke up, not long after that, go to uni, to sieve sand for my project. Initially, I thought it would not be so tough, as I decided to use the machine. So, I brought my mp3, bought a Sinchew, planned to go lab, let the machine do eveythg, and I read newspaper and listen to mp3 alone. Who know, reaching there, I found that the machine plug is broken! WTF!!!> <>

Until 4pm, i stopped the sieving job, coz the sand is finished and thus I start to refill the sand from oven. After that refill the sand in oven from outside… When I move the sand from outside to the lab, there is a slope… and I was focusing on moving the sand and the slope was too steep, the trolley was lost of control and I fell into the longkang ><>

OK… what a pity day. I was quite pissed off of my life that time. 4.45pm, the lab was closing, and I have finished my refilling job. Thus, I went to DK there looking for any bus. I saw the bus uncle for genting klang, so it means that there will be bus at 5.15pm… OK, since I was passing by him, I just saja asked him…

”uncle, sat lagi pukul lima ada bus kan?”

“tak tau, tengok dulu lar… kalau ada orang, jalan la. Takda, tak jalan lor… kalau satu orang saja tak akan jalan la…”

“apa?! Satu orang tak jalan?!”

“tak boleh la… nanti bos marah lor..u panggil laa kawan kwan u mai”

“saya mai buat lab saja, saya seorang saja. Ok, kamu mau berapa orang baru jalan?”

“kurang kurang pun empat lima lar..bos saya marah saya lorr dulu sebab bawa seorang saja, dia kata petrol mahal”

“bos kamu sapa?”

“itu Kampar punya” (smiling there, but eye not looking at me)

“Kampar kampar lar, sini Klang Valley maa. Bukan Kampar yang control.. Bos kamu PJ sana ar? Saya mau complain sudah lor.. mana ada kata seorang tak bawa punya. Kalau tak jalan, saya Monday pergi dsa complain u punya bos. Itu tugas kamu semua maa, mana ada kata petrol punya” (i reli wanna beh tahan ady)

“tengok dulu lar… nanti baru mari la”

“ok, nanti pukul lima saya mari ar… kalau tak jalan, ari isnin saya mesti pi complain punya”

Finally... 5.10pm, it was really me alone only… and the bus departed… guess that he worried on being complained already… it should be himself lazy, didn’t want to fetch me, but all push to his boss..

OK, Sunday… yan convo… aiz… time really pass very very fast. I still can remember the day, we came to UTAR at PJ together… She came 1st with her family, and I went with my family… I at IKEA there that time and she phoned me, asking where I rent my room… and not long later, she said to me tat she rent room at the same row with me also…

We 4 ppl came to UTAR that time. Me, miao, yan and lijong… 4 of us came for taking the course of actuarial science. But, end up, just yan alone succeed to fulfill this dream… Me and miao had changed course before entering our degree… I change to civil engineering, and miao changes to EEE, and then change to KDU Penang somemore. Lijong and yan enter AS, but end of 2nd sem, jong change to KDU accounting pulak… The days at PJ is still vivid in my mind… I still remember the 1st mid term test in my UTAR life is computer studies. Then the 1st mid term that I worry in UTAR is Physics1… all of us scare of the subject. Tat day, I still told yan tat nvrmind la… in our life, sure hv to fail once de maa… have to experience the feeling of failing in test. LOL. But luckily lar, we passed ^^

So, fast… yan graduate already. Miao also finish his studies already. While lijong is going to graduate also end of this year, I think. Just leave me alone… who is still studying at UTAR.. aiz… But studying life is enjoying, compared to working life, I know… if without exam, test, report, assignment, then the studying life is the greatest one!!

One more semester, my degree life is going to end. I know, I will surely miss my uni life after that. Sob~

Weekend of WEEK 12

Weekend of WEEK 12 is ended. Don’t know why, this semester pass till very fast, fast till a bit too fake already. All of my coursemates feel that too. WHY? Is it normal feeling for a final year student? I just remember this semester has just started not long ago. It is started by a May Intake, and I was attending the orientation.

It is followed by icebreaking, city tour, and festival. Yaa, FEStival! It is a so-called last event in our term of being SRC. FEStival= a campus carnival which was just prepared everything by us in 19 days… ya, 19 days, which is NINE-TEEN! Although it was not as happening, as success, as the FEStival in my mind, it was a great job for all of us!

Well, since it is a final year for us, we have to do a project in order for us to be awarded the degree. This project has a name which u will never guess, the name of this so-great project is… known as final year project. What a good name ya? So, in my so called fyp (final year project), I have chosen a title by a lecturer of a subject in my course… I still remember, I choose the title is based on the lecturer. Well, some lecturers I have no interest on them, since they are some not as nice as we know them. Some lecturers are nice, but I have no interest on their subject. Although the subject of the title I choose is not really my interest also (actually I don’t know I have interest which subject in this civil engineering also… seem all also very boring =.= except, maths, maybe…) I choose this subject, concrete technology, because of my future career, maybe. Since I will be working in IJM, which is a construction company, it is beneficial for me to know more on the building material, rather than the design thing, which is not the scope of a contractor. Besides, IJM has a concrete factory as well. So, taking this title, may give me another path after my graduation, rather than just working at construction site. So, I choose CONCRETE.

So, what title have i chosen? Microstructure Behavior of Light Weight Foam Concrete. It seem like very PRO rite? Actually the scope, as the name, is just study the microstructure of the concrete. But, u think to study the microstructure easy? >.<>

And thus, the nightmare begins…

OK, don’t talk about those sad things already. Let’s talk about this weekend. 21st and 22nd of August, the days of which I initially want to go for a camp, Famine 30. I have taken the form from friend and promised that I will be going to help on the camp. But, when I know the date, I returned the form to him. It is not because of assignment, not because of test, or anything, but it is because of someone, someone I have known for 15 years, Khoo Yi Yan. She warned, erm… not warn laa I think, is invite or welcome me to go for her convocation of degree which drop on 22nd!!! So, what to do? One is a famine 30, which is a camp that I wanna go, another is the once-in-life convocation of my best friend of 15 years. No choice, I sacrifice the camp.

So, without going camp, that was what my activities for this Saturday and Sunday. Saturday, I woke up, not long after that, go to uni, to sieve sand for my project. Initially, I thought it would not be so tough, as I decided to use the machine. So, I brought my mp3, bought a Sinchew, planned to go lab, let the machine do eveythg, and I read newspaper and listen to mp3 alone. Who know, reaching there, I found that the machine plug is broken! WTF!!!> <>

Until 4pm, i stopped the sieving job, coz the sand is finished and thus I start to refill the sand from oven. After that refill the sand in oven from outside… When I move the sand from outside to the lab, there is a slope… and I was focusing on moving the sand and the slope was too steep, the trolley was lost of control and I fell into the longkang ><>

OK… what a pity day. I was quite pissed off of my life that time. 4.45pm, the lab was closing, and I have finished my refilling job. Thus, I went to DK there looking for any bus. I saw the bus uncle for genting klang, so it means that there will be bus at 5.15pm… OK, since I was passing by him, I just saja asked him…

”uncle, sat lagi pukul lima ada bus kan?”

“tak tau, tengok dulu lar… kalau ada orang, jalan la. Takda, tak jalan lor… kalau satu orang saja tak akan jalan la…”

“apa?! Satu orang tak jalan?!”

“tak boleh la… nanti bos marah lor..u panggil laa kawan kwan u mai”

“saya mai buat lab saja, saya seorang saja. Ok, kamu mau berapa orang baru jalan?”

“kurang kurang pun empat lima lar..bos saya marah saya lorr dulu sebab bawa seorang saja, dia kata petrol mahal”

“bos kamu sapa?”

“itu Kampar punya” (smiling there, but eye not looking at me)

“Kampar kampar lar, sini Klang Valley maa. Bukan Kampar yang control.. Bos kamu PJ sana ar? Saya mau complain sudah lor.. mana ada kata seorang tak bawa punya. Kalau tak jalan, saya Monday pergi dsa complain u punya bos. Itu tugas kamu semua maa, mana ada kata petrol punya” (i reli wanna beh tahan ady)

“tengok dulu lar… nanti baru mari la”

“ok, nanti pukul lima saya mari ar… kalau tak jalan, ari isnin saya mesti pi complain punya”

Finally... 5.10pm, it was really me alone only… and the bus departed… guess that he worried on being complained already… it should be himself lazy, didn’t want to fetch me, but all push to his boss..

OK, Sunday… yan convo… aiz… time really pass very very fast. I still can remember the day, we came to UTAR at PJ together… She came 1st with her family, and I went with my family… I at IKEA there that time and she phoned me, asking where I rent my room… and not long later, she said to me tat she rent room at the same row with me also…

We 4 ppl came to UTAR that time. Me, miao, yan and lijong… 4 of us came for taking the course of actuarial science. But, end up, just yan alone succeed to fulfill this dream… Me and miao had changed course before entering our degree… I change to civil engineering, and miao changes to EEE, and then change to KDU Penang somemore. Lijong and yan enter AS, but end of 2nd sem, jong change to KDU accounting pulak… The days at PJ is still vivid in my mind… I still remember the 1st mid term test in my UTAR life is computer studies. Then the 1st mid term that I worry in UTAR is Physics1… all of us scare of the subject. Tat day, I still told yan tat nvrmind la… in our life, sure hv to fail once de maa… have to experience the feeling of failing in test. LOL. But luckily lar, we passed ^^

So, fast… yan graduate already. Miao also finish his studies already. While lijong is going to graduate also end of this year, I think. Just leave me alone… who is still studying at UTAR.. aiz… But studying life is enjoying, compared to working life, I know… if without exam, test, report, assignment, then the studying life is the greatest one!!

One more semester, my degree life is going to end. I know, I will surely miss my uni life after that. Sob~


Thursday, August 5, 2010

A very SUI day...

I never thought that I will have such a day in my university life...well, although I got a little bit exaggerate...

Today, 5/8/2010. I having class on 10am, but I and Sintat already decided to meet each other at 9 today as we would continue our FYP concrete casting. Yes, we are in final year already NOW... a year that is not sweet at all, and FYP is not a good thing at all.....

(Let's make some intro about my FYP, the only final year project, in my life... as to complete my degree in Civil Engineering... It is a project about studies on micro-structure behavior of light weight form concrete...means, basically the steps are... to cast some concrete, if not mistaken should be 140+, then wait for some days, longest is 180 days, leave it there, and crush it using an apparatus...Then, get the strength of it and take some sample of the concrete pieces to study its microstructure using some very expensive instrument... This FYP is tough coz microstructure is something quite detail about material and quite advance study...besides, it requires our hard works on not only studies, and also the real HARD WORK... means u will definitely get sweat and tired after the lab...cause we need to play with cement, sand, water and our hand, clothes will surely get dirty!!!)

OK... let's continue on my pitiful story today.. Although we decided to meet at 9am.. i was just woke up by a phone call on 9.30am. Thus, I rushed very quickly to uni by METRO bus... which i didn't pay for it at all, since the bus feler din ask it from me wad =P
So, end up i reached lab at 10am.

Upon reaching lab, the so-called good senior just finish casting his concrete cubes... OK, because we still have some mold for our concrete. Thus, we started our works by preparing the mold, using spanner, screw etc.. Finally, 8 molds were prepared. We planned to do 8 cubes today.

(Did u noticed that we start our work at 10, on the time which we should be in the class? LOL)

OK... then we also decided to use the orange mixing machine to mix our concrete. But... when we wanna use it... WTH!!! the internal of the mixer was so damn dirty... The so-called senior didn't really wash and clean it after using it just now!!! Really WTF~! So, we spent about half an hour on cleaning the mixer...

Everything done.. and we start our concrete mixing... Everythg seem smoothly... and we adding form into the concrete mixture.. (for info, form is added to concrete so to produce bubble inside the concrete as to make it lighter, thus it is called lightweight form concrete) Our target is 1300kg/m3... Well, we already tried mix it in smaller volume before. So, we approximately know how much form we needed. So, we added 2% inside.... and mix mix mix... OPPS! HOW COME IT FELT SO LIGHT ONE!!!! OMG!!! and we measured, ~1000+ kg/m3 =.=
So, what to do? we sadly... move the mixer to the grass area there... and throw all the concrete mix, our baby, to the grass area there... 8kg cement, 8kg sand which we collected quite a long time... were wasted... We ady started to feel disappointed... And the sky was so damn suit our feeling. IT RAINED... ya... it rained when we were cleaned the mixer, for the 2nd time, after we throw out our concrete. Cleaning the instrument and machine under rain, cool rite? ><

OK, 1st case gone....

Ya... when i was preparing the material... particularly water... when I squatted, my jeans felt like in tension, and suddenly "pliakkkk", my jeans broke...somewhere at my leg there.... so damn sui, dunno why....

OK, we were still not giving up.... But, we decided to cast the cubes in 2 times. 4 cubes + 4 cubes...After preparing all the material needed, we put the heavy mixer container to the machine there, and on it. Guess what, BLARRR BLARR BLARRR!!! DON'T KNOW which stupid feler went touched and adjust that mixer speed to highspeed!!!! and it caused the concrete mix all splashed out of the container. Sintat who on the mixer switch was the victim, his pants and shirt were splashed by the concrete also. It was a really OMG... the floor... also full of concrete. And thus, what to do? This meant that we failed again, and we have to throw and waste our 4kg sand + 4 kg cement AGAIN~! Sadly, we throw the cement n sand away, and continued the next trial....

Preparing evything. And we made sure the machine speed was in the correct position. We on the motor. Adding the foam and everything seem nice. But, how come the concrete felt so nothing! It seem like weightless AGAIN... OK, weighing it first, Sintat somemore wanted to cheat ourselves by putting more volume of concrete as more than 1Litre. But still, the concrete density was just around 1000+ only... Meant, we need to throw all these away again...

THUS, WE WORKED FOR THE WHOLE DAY... AND WHAT WE GET? WE GET TO WASTE A TOTAL OF 16KG CEMENT and 16KG SAND!!!!!! AND WE GAVE UP...

Few hours later, i called the Kaspersky guy, who promised me a job during pc fair, asking him about the dress code for working. Guess what he told me? He said he never promised me, and said he just told me that he will check the availability of the job without promising me anything, sweat. I called him few times before, 1st time, he asked me confirm or not that i can work, i said ok, then he said no problem also. 2nd time, i asked him is it confirm tat i will work already, he said YA, and said me alone only should be no problem, then said will contact me again since he was busy that time. OK, and now he just said a sorry to me. WTF~!

OK... forget it... i was truly tired the whole day. And, after dinner, i was sleeping from 8pm till the next day, which was just now, 8am.... ya, i slept for 12hrs... =.="

Since I don't work for pc fair already. I think I will continue do my FYP lab today. And hope that everything can really run smoothly and NO MORE WASTAGE ON MY DEAREST CEMENT AND SAND ANYMORE PLEASE~!! T.T